Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning languages has become a great concern in the modern era. Many people claim mastering a language ONLY paves the way for studying abroad or international business while others argue that there are various purposes for an individual to pursue a specific language. I am totally convinced by the latter for some reasons. On the one hand, investing time and effort in learning a language that is different from one’s mother tongue is beneficial to travel and studying abroad. In terms of travelling, being bilingual makes it a lot easier in many contexts of life. For example, a bilingual tourist travelling to Japan can learn about their culture by communicating well with the locals or just simply not being overcharged when shopping in local markets or shops. Another aspect is for education, mastering a second language assists people to understand the academic materials provided throughout the course and pass the exam with flying colours. On the other hand, apart from travelling and study purposes, some people learn a second or a third language for other reasons. Specifically, they are passionate about exploring a nation’s culture or for research purposes. When learning a language, learners tend to be intrigued by its culture through passages or festive events. In terms of conducting research, particularly, archaeologists have to understand ancient letters as well as symbols carved on various antiques, artefacts, or national heritage sites. In conclusion, language is not only a useful implement to travel or study overseas but also brings us other benefits.