Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained popularity, but some people argue that online courses can never be as good as those taken at a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As online learning schemes are increasingly adopted by more and more universities, there is an emerging view that distance courses designed for university students do not provide the same level of learning experience as on-site learning. Personally, I agree with this view. While university students enjoy a degree of convenience and flexibility when learning at a distance, they do not have access to the full range of experiences and tools. Firstly, it is vital for college curricula to be carefully designed to reflect the latest changes in academia. However, some universities allow professors to use recorded videos during online courses rather than giving live lectures, which may cause latency of the teaching materials. In addition, another significant advantage associated with schooling is lecturers can timely respond to attendants’ questions in class. This kind of interaction can be substantially diminished during online teaching, for the reason that recorded teaching materials can wipe out the chance of in-time communication needed by students. Most importantly, college often serves as the final stop for graduates before heading into the world of work and gives schools the core responsibilities of only focusing on conveying academic knowledge but also getting graduates equipped with social skills and communication techniques, most of which cannot be gained through distance learning, because they cannot physically attend club activities and sports. In conclusion, although some people are cheering for high education’s wide adoption of online learning systems, I would like to subscribe to the view that we should stick with offline teaching for its distinct advantages.