Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

It is irrefutable that in certain developing countries the national economy is certainly unstable. Governments of these nation's come up with an initiative to invite big companies to their place due to a variety of reasons. This trend comes with its own advantages and disadvantages, however, this essay will discuss both perspectives. Firstly, the major striking benefit of this trend is an increase in the employment rate. To further illustrate, MNCs tend to hire people from the same locality, which helps in generating income and opportunities for the unemployed. This further stabilizes the national revenue. Another benefit is that local companies tend to work hard and progress more in order to compete with the bigger firms. Take for instance, small local companies that can act as clients to the national companies and explore or broaden their scope in the market on the one hand and compete with their counterparts on the other hand. Employees learn new skill sets and experience a different work culture which they can implement in other companies they work for in future. Acknowledging, the benefits of the global firms these, have their own disadvantages on equal par. These, affect the local business firms at a pinnacle. For example, people who work in these companies tend to switch their jobs for a better pay scale and the name, eventually the host companies will have to rise the salary to sustain their employees and withstand competition which could eventually hinder their functioning and further they run into losses. This is further an added burden to the economy. However, the government has to provide a large amount of space which can be utilized for other activities. To sum up, taking into consideration both the advantages and disadvantages, I affirm that the advantages are far more than disadvantages and the government should take more initiatives to encourage MNCs to set up their companies in order to create more scope for employment and improve the quality of work culture in the country.