SOME PEOPLE FEEL THAT THERE SHOUD BE A FIXED PUNISHMENT FOR EACH TYPE OF CRIME. OTHERS FOT THAT THE CIRUMSTANCES OF AN OFFENCE SHOULD BE TAKEN IN TO ACCOUNT WHEN DECIDING ON A PUNISHMENT. DISCUSS BOTHE SIDES AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

Crimes are punished throughout the world.Some countries have evolved their laws to be a bit more considerate where the conditions in which a crime is committed are considered,rather than one punishment for all.A school of thought opposing this idea believe the same penalty may induce fear reducing the crime rate.But in my opinion, this is a positive development and states should consider the scenario so that they may not punish people who did not a bad intentions. On the one hand,some people believe in the same punishment for an offence regardless of the reason behind it. Such strict rules create fear among the criminals,that they would face the same harsh punishments as others if they thought of doing such a thing.In some cases this strategy has been successful for example,Saudi Arabia has this kind of rule where violations are punished regardless of the circumstances and have been successful so far. Thus, the same penalty for violation leads to fear which may do away with crime. On the other hand,the other school of thought opines that the state should be motherly and must consider the circumstances where the crime was committed.In some,cases an individual is forced to commit a crime,even though he did not want to. For instance,a murderer who caught the headlines in the news, was forced to murder because his family was kidnapped.If the state does not consider the such a state of affairs, then it would have to punish the person who willingly killed someone and the one who had no choice,with the same scale which is not fair. Hence,the authorities should not turn a blind eye towards the situation and should treat violations accordingly. In my opinion,the idea to look into the situation where a law is broken must be upheld instead of one shoe fits all. This is because by turning a blind eye towards the scenario,an innocent man who did not have the intention to commit a crime may suffer. Therefore,I support looking into the state of affairs where a law is violated before punishment. To conclude, one group of people supports penalizing every offender on the same scale. Nevertheless,I believe that courts should look deeply into the scenarios so that someone who did a violation under pressure may be given a chance to restart with a clean slate.