"Nowadays it is noticed that cultural mixing is reflected within local cultural practices. Do you think it is good for our society?"

In today's society,we commonly encounter people belonging to different cultures living together. Thus some of the local cultural practices have altered in several different ways over time. However, I believe that cultural mixing has both beneficial and adverse effects on our society. First of all, mixing of cultures teaches people to respect each other's beliefs and traditions. Consequently, creating a harmonious community. At the same time, people gain knowledge of different languages and customs. For instance, in Sri Lanka a variety of cultural festivals are celebrated with love and excitement throughout the year and most of the cultural and religious places are open to all people, thus making Sri Lanka a home to diverse cultures, languages and ethnicities. Also, certain barbaric local cultural practices followed by some communities from the past have changed for the better as a result of cross-cultural interactions. On the contrary, the fear of losing one's identity due to the influence of multiculturalism on indigenous customs and traditions can provoke violence, hatred and terrorism. For example, a peaceful culturally rich country like Sri Lanka had to go through a hard time during the civil war which lasted nearly three decades that claimed thousands of innocent lives. This conflict between the two communities began primarily due to long-standing disagreements, misconceptions and political influences. To summarize, according to my view, a multi-ethnic society can bring many benefits, but can also be perceived as a threat at times. That being the case, It's important to respect the beliefs, traditions and customs of all ethnicities. Concurrently, understanding each other's boundaries is also crucial for social stability and harmony.