In many countries, there is a growing gap between the technical skills of younger people and those over the age of 50. What problem does this cause, and what solutions could minimize the problem?

The advancement of the technology industry in the world has surged at a fast pace and, people are obligated to follow this. However, there is a drawback that looks subtle but could cause a big problem. People above the age of 50 could not keep up with the current technology, while technology is a part of youngsters' daily life. This leads to a large gap between these two generations in terms of technical skills. People in their 50s are not familiar with technology since it was not developed properly when they were young. In contrast, the young generations have faced technology since they were born. Therefore, elders find it hard to follow the current trend as their brains can not easily adapt to technical information fastly like those in their 20s or 30s. This can be problematic because society has used technology to make things effective and efficient. For instance, in Indonesia, almost 50% of retail stores do not accept cash for payment, and they prefer to accept payment through cards or through e-payment. If someone does not fulfil this requirement, they can not buy the goods. Hence, it may be troublesome for elderly people. However, this problem can be solved if the younger people could lend some help to these elders. For instance, the children can help their parents and teach them how to use basic technology skills that are needed in modern life. Another solution is to accompany people over 50s whenever they need to do something that requires advanced technical skills. In conclusion, the differences in technical skills between younger people and elder people are an undeniable fact. However, the wide gap in technical skills between two different generations can be lessened if these people help each other in society.