Nowadays, young people communicate with friends and family mostly through social networking sites, rather than other ways of communication like talking on the phone or face to face. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the advent of scientific advancement and accessibility to the high-speed internet, its usage is being increasingly popular among the younger generation. It is rightly suggested that their communicating practices have mostly switched to the online web rather than in-person communication. There could be many reasons for that however, I do believe that this is a negative reflection of technological development. To commence with, it is a fact that lives have become mechanical with the advent of social media. In other words, it is quite often seen that the younger generation prefers to communicate through Facebook, WhatsApp, and Snapchat rather than making an effort to call their friends and have a conversation or meet them in person. This could be due to the increase in accessibility, and people eventually adapt to easier things. Consequently, human connections and bonds are affected as communicating in this way might lack a sense of satisfaction. For example, we can share several things like happiness, sorrow, and physical touch, which gives a sense of security when meeting in person is lacking. Hence eventually if this is continued we tend to become mechanized like robots that lack human emotions. Moreover, this leads to decreased cultural and traditional values.Older people might not have access to these platforms and they might not get a chance to communicate with their grandchildren and this further distances the child from their grandparents or parents who bridge the gap between our past and future. For example, a recent survey said that our yesteryears generation is more culturally competent and has more family values compared to the present. To sum up, for the above-mentioned reasons I strongly believe that this is a negative development as the technical communication does not give pleasure as the face-to-face meeting gives.