The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is often argued that a government should finance public services, rather than invest unnecessarily in arts, music, and theatres. Although I agree that arts, music and theatres are important to bring cultural identity, I think that investments in public services are more important. On one hand, social well-being is very crucial in a country and governments should allocate adequate amounts of funds for public services. Every person in a country should have similar rights to get their important needs such as food, education, medicine and security irrespective of thier the level of income. Think about a country where people queue up for several days to get their medicine at hospitals, but they have high-end entertainment centers, is there a benefit? The answer is no because people can live without arts, music and other entertainments but, they cannot survive without social necessities. Hence, funding huge amounts for entertainment does not fulfill these social needs, so there is no doubt that governments should invest enough percentages for social well-being. On the other hand, arts, music and theatres cannot sweep away, it plays an important role to keep the cultural identity and it is a universal language of mankind. Each country has its unique music, arts or drama which came from the previous generations, therefore to continue these traditions from one generation to the other, it is necessary to allocate some funds for them. Furthermore, there is a social value in the unique entertainment provided by different cultures in the tourism sector because there is no ethnic barrier to understanding them. Therefore, art, music and theatre also have a value that is not completely omitted. To conclude, I agree that the advantages of allocating more budget to public services far outweigh spending more money to facilitate entertainment.