In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In certain cultures, children are often told that if they strive to work hard they can achieve anything they wish. By perpetuating this idea to children, it could shape their perspective about their goals and work hard to achieve it. Meanwhile if these individuals forced themselves with this notion, potentially it could drive them to feel overwhelmed which leads to anxiety and often feel not enough for their life and future. Teaching children to work harder in order to reach their goals are essential to shape their perspectives on their dreams and futures. Children particularly in this globalization era have an inclination to become more lazy compared to young people who live in the 90s. This is because the development of technology generates these individuals to become more passive. In order to make their dreams come true, young people need to devote their time and energy tenfold harder. By doing so, potentially those goals can be achieved. This perspective or value is crucial to help these people to shape their mindset or paradigm about goals and futures. However, if young people are always perpetuated with this idea for a long time, it will drive them to become overwhelmed which could lead to deteriorating their mental health including anxiety and feeling not enough for themselves. Burnout and stress are the two paramount mental disorder issues that the young generation currently facing at the moment. In some cultures, in the U.S and Indonesia, for example, these problems are prominent for young people. Having a thought that “I am not enough” could undermine their self-confidence and they become more self-conscious about their quality. If the idea of dictating young people to work harder in order to achieve their dreams keeps happening, the number of victims of mental health issues will remain increasing in the future. In conclusion, the positive impacts of telling children to work harder in order to achieve anything in their life is pivotal because it helps them to shape their perspective and will work tenfold harder than average children while this idea also could lead the young generation to become overwhelmed and stressed which can deteriorate their mental health.