Many famous sports players advertise products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development .

It is commonly known, that the vast majority of popular team players advertise items via marketing deals. Taking into account, the fact that these players have a lot of followers and fans, advertised products usually end up being sold out. However, even if there are a lot of advantages in the promotion of goods by players, particularly the financial benefits of it, there are significant downfalls too. To begin with, it's not a recent phenomenon, when sports players get sponsored by taking advertising agreements with partners. For instance, Formula One drivers, with the support of companies like Ferrara, Aston Martin etc get to be the participants in the game and overcome all the financial expenditures that take place in these expensive races. Another example, most of the deals include percentages from the sales of every product, which literally if succeeded makes the player rich. Thus, giving him more control in the future to pick through received offers and claim more gain from them. Despite these advantages, sports players and their managers should pay attention to the terms of deals and particularly the kind of products they are going to promote, very seriously. Several times, advertisements of a certain product caused damage to the reputation of the player and his team. One of the examples is, Luis Suarez. In a commercial ad on, tv he played a cheating office mate, who distracts his coworkers and causes chaos. This ad resulted in reminding everyone about his bite during World Cup 2014, leaving Italy behind and dented. To summarise, advertising can bring both fame and money to the player. Nevertheless, in my opinion, every sports player before considering taking the offer must analyse the outcomes of it and the effects of it on his or her followers.