Sports should be made mandatory for all children as it helps in physical health. Do you agree or disagree?

Most countries across the globe are witnessing an alarming decline in the overall health and fitness levels of school-aged children. Health experts propose that participation in sports and physical education should be mandatory for all able-bodied school students. I completely agree with this idea as this practice will not only develop beneficial exercise habits in students but also mould their personalities. Sport is a powerful medium which can teach children valuable life lessons. It teaches them concentration, discipline and a good work ethic. We can be successful only if we train hard, stay focused and exercise self-control. Behavioural development in another positive aspect of sports. Students learn how to behave, or how not to behave in defeat. They learn to maintain composure in the face of disappointment, a life skill which is worth mastering. It also improves their ability to recover quickly from setbacks. Undoubtedly, sport inculcates a competitive spirit but it teaches us restraint too: a player has to stay calm to cope up with the intense pressure to have a chance of winning. This ability can also be very helpful for students in their academic exams. Furthermore, team sports teach children how to work as a team and be respectful to others. Being a ‘team player’ is highly valued by employers and behavioural skills like communication and cooperation not only prepare us for the workplace but for the rest of our lives. To sum up, sport definitely has a place in the school curriculum. Active participation in school sports will make our children fit and active. They will also learn important life skills. Therefore, the practice of mandatory physical education for all children who are physically able should be introduced.