Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, air pollution from transportation become a big problem in many countries. In order to gradually reduce pollution, some individuals believe that government should invest money to expand public transportation systems and offer lower public transport fares. In my opinion, I partially believe in those suggestions as I strongly think that other solutions should be implemented along with them which I will explain in the following paragraphs. First of all, it is an undeniable truth that investment in public transit systems and reductions in transportation fares could help to reduce pollution as they can convert people who usually use personal cars to use other modes of transport such as metro, train, bus and ferry. However, the pollution issue could not be greatly solved without other implementations. My first suggestion is to reduce the number of cars running in the city by issuing extra tolls before the cars enter the city. Then the government can utilise this money to plant more trees in the pathways or alongside roads. This method has been used in Singapore for over a decade and it can prove that people tend to use fewer private cars. Furthermore, the government should encourage their citizens to own more electric vehicles. In Norway, for example, there is a policy in which people who own traditional fuel cars need to pay more expensive taxes than others who drive electric vehicles. Also, the Norwegian government stated clearly that they will convert all vehicles in the country to zero-emission in the next few years. As a result, the majority of cars in Norway now are more eco-friendly and there is less air pollution from transportation. To conclude, with all reasons taken into account, I strongly believe that improving transport systems and reducing their prices partially contribute to reducing air pollution. However, other solutions such as reducing the number of cars in the city and using zero-emission automobiles are more important to reduce that pollution as there are successful cases in Singapore and Norway.