People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

Sleeping was more prominent in earlier times. However, in the modern world, more and more individuals tend to sacrifice their relaxing time to fulfil their unlimited desires. In my view, the main cause of this is urbanisation and the evolution of gadgets. We will discuss these reasons in detail in the upcoming paragraphs and also will evaluate certain effects of changing sleep patterns among people. Firstly, the major reason behind the lack of sleep is growing competition among the young generations. Each individual wants to compete with his pal and want to prove his ability. The feeling of winning every time causes stress and anxiety which ultimately leads to a reduction in sleeping hours. In the traditional world, people were more kind and generous towards one another and they had peace of mind. Due to this, they tend to sleep more than in today's youth. The outcome of this habit is more adverse than beneficial. Lack of rest can cause various health issues such as insomnia, frequent headaches, obesity etc. Various studies have also proved that it is necessary to rest for appropriate hours in order to remain fit. Therefore, reduced sleep not only affects personal growth but also influences the surrounding environment. The person may develop anger issues which could lead to quarrels in the family and the neighbourhood. For instance: there is an engineering student residing in our society who often involves in small arguments with his friends as he is an insomniac. Therefore, we need to understand that a proper sleeping schedule is of utmost importance for every individual as well as for the whole community. Otherwise, it may lead to an unbalanced lifestyle.