Nowadays, many people believe that technology has made working from home easier and more efficient, while others think it has caused more stress and less collaboration among colleagues. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The advent of the internet and other technological advancements has led companies across the globe to adopt a remote working style for their employees. While some argue that it has made employees ’ lives easier, others believe that it has increased stress and reduced collaboration among peers. This essay will further elaborate on both of these views and will provide my opinion in the conclusion. The employees can benefit in several ways by working from home. The predominant gain is no daily commute to work. Since the employees will work from the comfort of their homes, they will not waste any time in traffic, transit, and pollution. This has a direct impact on their productivity, as it helps them to keep calm and relax. Additionally, it also enhances their mood. However, the downside of this should not be overlooked, as it could cause some serious impacts on the company’s overall performance. The most significant drawback is the communication gap. Although the technology allows workers to collaborate with their colleagues online, it has its limitations. For example, the Mechanical Engineers often work on designing large assemblies with multiple sub-assemblies; they seldom feel that their message in an online meeting is not fully conveyed to others. Consequently, it led to endless revisions on every assembly, ultimately delaying the project and exceeding the budget. This can also cause high-level stress as they are always under pressure to work at a faster pace. To conclude and provide my opinion, I think that the employees benefit from the technological advancements that allow them to work from home. However, the employees should only work from home once every few weeks for a change; otherwise, they should go to the office, as it will allow them to work seamlessly with their colleagues.