It is common these days to see celebrities advertising different products? Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Advertising has been a very popular way of marketing since a long time ago. Recently, there is a trend to hire celebrities to represent or advertise products, which brings benefits and drawbacks. In my opinion, the negative impact is greater than the positive one, and in this essay I will further elaborate. First of all, it is costly to employ celebrities to represent a product, as a result of which, big sums of money are spent on advertisement instead of investing in research and development of the products, and thus, compromising the quality of the products. Furthermore, it is a misleading approach as the celebrities themselves might not necessarily use them, but merely to get paid for advertising them. For instance, a football star drinking an energy drink in an advertisement will make viewers think he is energetic because of the drink, but the truth might be he only occasionally consume it. Besides, we can not deny the influence of famous stars,especially on the younger generation, who are very impressionable. If a movie star is featured in an advertisement promoting cigarettes, for example, the younger crowd will tend to follow as it is presumed to be a trendy thing to do. It will bring major disadvantages to society as not only it creates an opportunity for a bad habit to be formed, but it also costs parents a lot of money in order for their children to pursue the products. The winners in this situation would be both the celebrities and the companies, who walk away with a lot of fortunes generated from poor consumers. In conclusion, using celebrities to promote goods bring more drawbacks than advantages. Consumers need to be wise in choosing a product and approach advertisements with a pinch of salt to avoid becoming the victims of such business tactics.