Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world . Why is this? What are the advantages and disadcantages of solar energy.

An alternate source of electricity; solar energy is now gaining significant acceptance in a lot of homes in several countries of the world. This is because it is readily available and economical. Although, using sunlight as a source of energy and not contributing to environmental hazards are a few of its benefits. However, the financial cost of installing one in many houses is burdensome. Many people now embrace the use of solar energy in their homes for a few reasons. One of them is that it is readily available. In the sense that, as long as there is sunlight, power will always be available, especially in some parts of Africa where there is a poor electricity supply. For example, many homes in Nigeria now have solar energy systems installed to generate power. Another reason is that it is much more economical. That is, unlike the hydroelectric supply by power -holding companies, this only needs a one -time installation and there won't be a need for a monthly subscription for electricity. Therefore, the less financial burden on users. There are several benefits to the use of solar energy sources. An important one is that it has minimal or no contribution to environmental hazards. Meaning that, as against power generation from diesel and petrochemical products using plants, it has no hazardous effect on the ecosystem or the atmosphere. In addition, the sun as the source of energy is not only cheap but also always available. So, there will be no interruption in the source of production. As a result, it will bring a stable and profitable gain to users, especially in production facilities or businesses. A notable instance is the use of solar energy by hospitals and other companies that provide twenty-four hours facilities. However, as against the above, the cost of installing a solar panel is not cheap. The number of panels installed is proportional to the energy consumption of each household, and users that need a lot of energy might find it unaffordable. Consequently limiting them from using a solar energy system. Furthermore, additionally, some countries have winter-dominated weather and this may hinder them from actively using solar energy. For example, in some parts of Russia, they have temperatures lower than -25 degrees almost all year. As a result of this, no sunlight to power the panels. In summary, the use of solar energy is a trend in many countries and it is gaining popularity. It has great economic value and is widely available for use meanwhile, it is country and continent-dependent due to the availability of sunlight but most importantly, the financial implication of installing one is worrisome. Government subsidies on installation will go a long way in ensuring stable electricity among many nations.