Many working people get little or no exercise during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

A large number of working people do not get enough exercise in their working day or in their leisure time and this causes health problems for them. The main reason this causes is sedentary routines, and the most viable solution is changing routines. The principal problem associated with people who do not get enough exercise is sedentary routines. That is to say that most workers have to sit for an extended time in their offices doing their jobs. Similarly, when they are commuting to and from work they tend to drive or ride buses or trains instead of opting for healthier options. The result of this is muscle weakness and heart issues. For example, in Somalia, IT sector employees often lack exercise because they spend an extended period sitting in front of their computers and use cars for commuting.  To tackle this problem workers should change their routines. That is to say, people should adopt other means of commuting such as walking and cycling. Similarly, when at work, they could take the stairs instead of using elevators. This option will reduce health problems such as heart attacks and heart failure. For instance, workers in the Netherlands mainly use bicycles to commute to and from work, and they are generally more physically fit compared to those who drive cars. In conclusion, being sedentary is a major issue that can result in people not getting enough exercise during their working time and free time, however it can be addressed by changing their routines.