In some cultures today, older people in retirement from work are spending money on themselves (e.g. on holidays), instead of saving money for their children. Is this a positive or negative development?

The phenomenon that an increasing number of older people in retirement from work are spending money on themselves is surely an indicator of the prosperity of a society. This is beneficial for both the old and the younger generation. First of all, spending on leisure activities could prolong the elder’s longevity. It’s true that people could have more free time and less stress after retirement. However, the chances of working out are reduced greatly at the same time. So if older people could take part in some outdoor activities such as mountain climbing or hiking, their physique could be stronger. Greater financial autonomy for the older generation could also help perfect society. Compared with the past when aged people seldom have the chance to go out and entertain themselves, those in or over their sixties nowadays could engage themselves in the latest trends. For example, they could go to amusement parks, try live webcasts or even do extreme sports, in which process their special needs are accentuated to the public so that companies would take the ageing group’s demand more seriously. The younger could gain independence as well. Motivated by examples set by their parents, the youth would strive harder to earn their own lives. For example, they would know that they could only rely on themselves and will try harder to make themselves financially secure. What’s more, they could know that after years of struggling at work, they could live as happily as their parents. In conclusion, it would be beneficial for society if older people could have stronger voices by spending more on themselves because this could make the older people healthy, the society more friendly for themselves and the younger generation more independent.