In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

In many nations around the world, children are usually been told that if they work hard, they can get anything that they want. There are some benefits and drawbacks towards this saying. On the one hand, the merits of telling children that they can achieve anything in life only if they work hard enough, will encourage them to work harder to achieve a certain goal that they wanted. This can give a child the idea that what they are doing will be worth it in the end. Hence, they will put more efforts into what they are doing to achieve their goals. In addition, it will also give children a clear goal to strive towards. This can help children determine what they want and have a clear step to achieve those goals. For instance, in order to study abroad in Canada, foreign students have to complete certain criterias such as IELTS, their study plan, and their finances. With the aforementioned benefits, there is a major drawback in doing this. It would heavily damage the child self-esteem and confident when they failed. Some goals are unachieveable achievable, and people telling children that they can achieve anything with hard work, will lead them to failure. Thus, giving them false perception about life and also broke their confident. For example, telling children that they can create a time machine, which is theoretically impossible, to go back in time and fix their mistakes everytime that they do something wrong. In conclusion, encouraging children by telling them that they can attain anything just by hard work does have it merits by giving them a clear goal and motivation to work hard, but also have a major disadvantage that it will damage the child confident when they fail.