Cyber-bullying and cybercrimes are seen to be on the rise today. What are the causes for this? What are the solutions for this problem?

In recent times, it is quite often seen that bullying and crimes using online platforms are growing at an exponential rate. Advancement in technology has made accessibility to the internet rather easier, which could be one of the major reasons for such activities. Measures need to be taken to tackle this leading problem by creating awareness among the masses. To begin with, misuse of the web for personal gain could pose a threat to people of all generations. In other words, using certain loopholes in technology most people are gaining access to the personal data of many folks which persuades them to involved in activities like credit card scams, blackmailing for money, and using social media platforms. For example, police in India have recently reported that many money-making has become easy for a few youngsters by using such technology. It is generally agreed that measures should be taken by the government to find a solution to break this growth, by creating awareness. Firstly, the usage of encrypted passwords should be encouraged and privacy details should be updated quite often. Secondly, stringent action should be taken against such criminals so that it will generate fear. Finally, people should be very cautious while sharing personal information, and for that awareness should be created. For example, many nations in Asia are increasing cybersecurity using police departments and software to tackle this current trend. In conclusion, although the crime rate is increasing, the governing bodies should ensure the protection to citizens particularly younger generations from the harm, these activities can cause by making them familiar with current trends and how people can misuse these platforms.