Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person's culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree of disagree?

A person's choice of clothes can have different intentions and motivations about how they want to get dressed up. A group of people think that this choice reflects their own cultural values and characteristics, whereas the rest believes differently. In my opinion, dressing style does speak for an individual's opinions about their culture. Since the rise of different cultures in human history, there has been a visible trend in how people think about what kind of clothes they should wear. For example, in the seventeenth century, in south Asia, women used to wear a traditional dress called a sari. It did not change until the late eighteenth century which introduced a western touch to it. Because of this cultural effect, nowadays, women still wear saris during rituals and celebrations of different festivals in south Asian countries. This directly reflects how a person's background and connection with historical culture have an impact on the selection of clothes on different occasions. However, in modern times, the public largely follows fashion trends being influenced by celebrities and television media globally. For example, after globalization in the last few decades, more Americans are using leather shoes and jackets in winter that were only popular in Australia. Although this change does not tell anything about American culture and history, the preference still reflects an acceptance of a range of clothes, which clearly has a resemblance with the diversity of immigrants living in the United States. Even though it is a personal matter how an individual dresses up for their routine work, somewhere along the line, cultural values influence the decisions and radiate his/her characteristics. In conclusion, different events influence our perspective on how we dress up for different occasions, but it has always found a deep connection with our values and ideology. Thus, it is quite possible to deduce a lot of things about an individual's characteristics from their dressing style.