Some people claim that not enough waste from homes is recycled and that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people in society believe that the only way for people to increase recycling from their homes is to make recycling part of the legal requirement. In this essay, I will discuss reasons why I believe that legal requirement is not the only way to promote the public to recycle. Then, I will further elaborate on the other possible ways that the government can help in this situation. To begin with, the reason why the community believes that legal requirements are the only way to improve recycling is that society tends to be more aware when there are fines involved. For instance, pedestrians often cross the roads without using the crossroad. However, once the government increased the fine for jaywalking, the population started using crossroads more often. Although implementing legal requirements in recycling can be a way to promote the population to reduce waste from home, I suppose this is not the only way. Moreover, I believe by educating society and implementing the recycling system as part of the practice and curriculums in education, can be a more effective way in the long run. It is easier to have people practise an action when they understand the reasons and values behind their doings. For instance, it makes more sense to children when an adult explains to children the reasons why violence should not be the way to solve problems in the real world in comparison to video games. To conclude, I understand that making recycling a legal requirement can raise awareness for people to reduce their waste at home. Thus, I strongly believe that the government can implement recycling into the educational system to increase recycling rates.