Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People deem that spending money on space research is a waste and that governments should make efforts to apply resources to other areas to benefit the nation. This essay deeply disagrees with this statement, and in the following lines my point of view will be explained. It is true that some countries have been putting in a good amount of public funding to foster space exploration. This initiative can be faced with a good perspective, as fas as many scientific researches are developed in this process that can bring benefit to the society. However, people tend to believe that this knowledge is useless because it is not able to solve urgent problems, such as economic crises or children's malnourishment in underdeveloped countries, for example. Conversely, it is mandatory to keep in mind that activities related to scientific exploration and its studies show their results in long term and because of it, they have to be continued. Besides that, through past spacial research, humanity could improve scientifically in different fields. The usage of communication satellites, for instance, is feasible thanks to the development of science and space study. The same occurred with studies related to climate change monitoring systems. To conclude, it is known that there are many urgent social and economic troubles to be tackled by governments around the world. However, if a state has an amount of money to invest in scientists to know more about the universe, I think it has to be done. Applying in science is an investment in long term. Hence, in the end, humanity will benefit from knowledge, which can bring solutions to some issues faced nowadays.