In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While the gap between the poor and the rich has been expanding in some countries now, there are calls for this to be revised so that all citizens can live equally in the society. This essay will share both sides of the coin and explain my own opinion. Undoubtedly, people who earn more than the average increase the GDP (gross domestic product) of the country, which is beneficial to the government. For example, the government can expect more inbound income from overseas since people spend more with salaries which are above the average. Moreover, the government can acquire more tax income from their earnings, so they can increase the expenditure of social welfare. On the other hand, the regulation of income is also beneficial since expanding the gap of income has been a social problem in modern society. Some nations such as North Europe implement the ‘basic income ’ which distributes enough money for foundational living so that people who cannot live with their earnings can achieve the minimum living style as human beings in modern society. As a result, even if there is regulation of the maximum amount of the salaries, people can live happily in a society which has less competition. In conclusion, extremely high salaries are indeed beneficial to the nation’s economy and the government income, however, regulation of income such as the idea of basic income also leads to a better society in terms of reducing poverty.