Due to rise in crime, the use kf cctv cameras at public places is increasing day by day .what are the advantages and disadvantages of using cctv cameras at public places?

Crime is prevalent. To minimize the crime rates and to increase public safety, the need for public Surveillance cameras has increased significantly these days. As far as i m concerned the benefits of surveillance outweigh the demerits. To begin with, through the installation of CCTV cameras at public places such as government offices, banks, ATMs, shopping malls and retail stores, the safety of the public has increased a lot. As the fear of having someone who is monitoring you round-the-clock encourages criminals to not commit the crime at that specific place. Which as a consequence, improves general public safety. What is more, surveillance of cameras also helps police to catch criminals. As the face of the culprit can be easily identified within the video with face detection software and posters can be printed of the criminal. This further helps them find the culprit more easily than listening to a story from an eyewitness person. However, along with benefits, surveillance of cameras has demerits as well. As the majority of individuals think that it is an invasion of one's privacy. Cameras in public places is everywhere such as parking lots. Your privacy can be easily invaded as you are walking across the street or sitting in the car with your boyfriend or girlfriend. Someone who is monitoring thatcamera that cameras can easily get an idea of your private life and can blackmail you further by showing a video of enjoying your life. And hence can ask for money as well. Secondly, the maintenance cost of surveillance cameras is expensive. For example, in,Chandigarh there was one criminal who was looting the observation cameras from all public places such as parking lots, Atm and schools. As a consequence to repair those cameras,cost a lot of money. In conclusion, I reiterates my position by saying that although there are some demits linked to video supervision in public places but still the merits of CCTV cameras outweigh. Therefore there should be Cameras in public places.