In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the process of globalisation, the current global market has become highly competitive, forcing both giant corporations and SMEs (Small and Medium Enterprises) to utilise different tools to compete for their market shares effectively. Advertising new features of their products in one of those. The endanger behind this occurrence is discussed in this disquisition, along with my evaluation of why this trend may harm both consumers and society. The reason why a product needs to be promoted in this way hides behind the psychology of modern citizens. What the modern world implants in its citizens’ minds are a fast and constantly changing lifestyle; not only do images of lavish life consistently appear on social media, but message such as ‘you only live once’ also goes viral as a virus, creating an illusion that people are desperate for new experiences with a fear of missing out. Understanding this mentality of shoppers, many companies invest an exorbitant amount of their financial resources in research and development to innovate new functions or designs to advertise these as their selling points. The competition between giants in the smartphone industry - Apple and Samsung - is an excellent example when they annually market their flagship phones with new designs, colours and camera upgrades. Even minor details can give these businesses an edge over their competitors. The question of whether this trend has positive or negative impacts leans entirely to the downside. Although it is hard to see the benefits of new features, many are insignificant and even unnecessary - a slight improvement in the camera’s sharpness or massive storage of up to 1 Terabyte on a smartphone can hardly create any change in its owner’s life. Moreover, as the messages in these advertisements prey on buyers’ emotions and force them to buy things they do not need, these advertisements only promote consumerism, especially among young adults who lack experience handling their finances, trapping many in a loop of debts. Besides, companies using this strategy indirectly encourage a throw-away society, harming the environment. In conclusion, new features of products are an effective method applied to stimulate consumption and generate revenues; however, I personally consider this method harmful regarding a series of potential issues.