Many people keep dogs and cats as companions. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of pet ownership for the animals involved and for the community as a whole.

Nowadays, numerous individuals would love to keep an animal in their home as their pet, as it can be beneficial in various ways. From my standpoint, it is good not only for animals but also for society. So, in the forthcoming, paragraphs I will discuss its merits and a few demerits as well. To commence with the advantages first and foremost is that, pets like dogs can act as safety for some people living alone. Firstly, a dog can alert an older person living apart from his / her child from any unknown individual entering the house. Secondly, a pet doesn't have to roam here and there for food as well as water because protecting its owner it will provide everything to the pet. Therefore, pet -like a dog can play a crucial role in a person's life living all alone. Furthermore, animals can be beneficial for the community because they can prevent the theft of precious items. Moreover, dogs can make people know if any burglar doing any theft by barking at him / her continuously. In addition, pets can even chase any person and can even catch him / her with their mouth if their owner orders them to do so. Further, pets like cats can use their nails to scratch a person's face if they find any harm that a particular person can cause. Thus, animals can play a vital role in society as they can do numerous things some of which are discussed above. Now taking into account the disadvantages, animals can sometimes harm an unknown individual and can even annoy neighbours. Moreover, any relative who is unknown to the pet can bite that person if he / she enters the house unknowingly. In addition, some people have to go to the hospital for wounds given by the dog or any other animal. Further, a dog can bark all night because his hearing sense is much higher and it can make people living in society go sleepless. Hence, there are some demerits too for keeping a pet not only for the owner but also for the community. To conclude, animals can be extremely beneficial for people living all alone as well as they can prevent any hazardous thing from happening such as theft. But there are a few disadvantages as well for keeping a pet like a dog or a cat mentioned in the above segment.