In many societies, there is less social contact between the elderly and the young. What are the reasons and what measures can be taken?

Interaction between the old generation and the new generation is depleting these days. The main reason for this issue is lack of time. In this essay, I will discuss the various reasons and measures that could be taken to resolve this issue. On the one hand, the reason for lower social contact between the elderly and the young ones, society's competitive environment put high pressure on young ones which is the main reason for the distance. Moreover, migration to cities puts oil to the fire by increasing the distance between family members even more. To elaborate, a report on "Human Migration" shows that for better job and study opportunities people move to cities leaving early in their native place. Therefore, learning from older people helps the young ones to learn multiple complexities of life and lead it in a better way but there is no time for this interaction. On the other hand, the measures to mitigate it is advanced technology helps in reducing the gap between individuals. Today, we can use various applications to directly communicate with our loved ones either by video or audio call. Furthermore, cheap and easily accessible railways and airways help in reaching far in a couple of hours. Hence, we should encourage regular interaction between generations through travel or technology. For example, WhatsApp is the biggest source in the modern era through which we can see family members on a button click any time we desire. In conclusion, after discussing the reason and measures of this trend, it seems that although there are many barriers due to social pressure and global distance, still we can bridge the gap between the elderly and young ones by various means discussed above.