In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is evident in some cultures, that children will achieve success in life only if they try hard enough. This essay will tackle the disadvantages and advantages of this practice. Firstly, children being constantly reminded by their elders will learn to be independent individuals. For example, children will learn to study on their own, and will not need the constant guidance of their parents because they know for a fact that if they will just study hard enough, they will surely ace their exams. Secondly, it will make the children believe in their talents and abilities. By doing such, they will be able to explore what they can and cannot do. An example of this is a child learning to play the violin, if he constantly practices and enhances his skills, ultimately he will be able to perform worldwide and be known as a world-class violinist. On the other hand, this kind of practice will easily demotivate the young ones. For instance, if a child fails his school exam even though he tries hard to study the lessons, he will easily become frustrated with himself. It will cause him to look down on himself and will result in depression. Furthermore, this message will deprive children of a happy childhood. Children will not learn how to associate with other children because they will just focus always on how to become successful individuals in the future. For example, instead of relaxing and playing on weekends and holidays, the child will spend these days studying or practising because of the notion that practice means perfect. In conclusion, there are obviously pros and cons to this message. It is with the guidance and upbringing of the parents and elders to make sure that the children will grow up to be successful individuals someday.