Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

This paper will discuss in which situation the government should spend more money. The present case believes that it is preferable to invest money on railways than roads. It is agreed that the train system needs a change because of its social benefits in different ways, while roads would not need any change. First of all, the development of technology has raised a lot in different sectors. Implementing these new factors will add other characteristics to trains that are beneficial to individuals. For example, these improvements can make trains go faster and cover long distances in a span of a few hours which is less time than driving. What is more, it will generate more safety systems to prevent accidents. However, roads do not need this huge change and maintenance to be acceptable to drive. Applying this technology to the train system is not cheap and that is why more capital is needed. Secondly, capital is necessary to create more routes and connect other destinations in the country than the ones that already exist. New connections, for instance, will permit people who do not have driver's licences to travel around the country without worrying about which destination is closer to the place they want to go. Thanks to this, public transport is also encouraged and that is good for the country's economy and the environment because railways use electricity instead of fossil fuels. Consequently, individuals will prefer to buy train tickets and the use of cars will be reduced, estimating a decrease in air pollution and global warming. In conclusion, I consider that using more money to improve the railways is a positive action for the environment, society and the economy of a country.