Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Studying a foreign language has various benefits. Many individuals believe that the only reason to learn another language is to travel or work abroad. However, few are of the view that there are other factors associated as well. This essay will discuss both the opinions in detail and will further conclude on the latter statement. It is certainly important to learn another country's language in order to work in that specific nation. Further, we always try to get well versed in the linguistic style of the destination country where we wish to travel. For example: last year, I travelled to Vietnam for tourism and I learnt their routine words in order to avoid communication barriers during my trip. Although it becomes a necessity to get hold of linguistic skills of other countries for travelling or work opportunities, it also provides other advantages which will be discussed in the following paras. If a person learns non-native language, he can definitely get priority while applying for certain jobs which require communication skills. For instance: many global organisations in India prefer individuals having fluent foreign accent as they need to deal with clients abroad in their day to day activities. Further, if we are familiar to some beautiful languages used across the globe, we can become a good host for people visiting to our homeland. Therefore, in the conclusion, I would say that no matter learning a foreign langauage is important in order to work or travel abroad, but there are many other reasons for which people thrive to understand foreign culture and adopt their communication styles.