The restoration of old buildings in major cities around the world costs enormous amounts of money. This money would be better spent on providing new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Huge sums of money are being spent on the renovation of ancient architecture. Many agree with this statement whereas few think that a sustainable amount of budget should be utilized for the construction of modern housing schemes. I strongly agree with the idea that new building and road is where our money should be used as it has low-cost maintenance and the presence of top amenities. On one hand, there is no doubt that the restoration of an ancient construction would result in an extraordinary outcome as people admire heritage-listed buildings but would cost a lot more. While new homes and roads are preferred in the long run as new technology is used in construction like earthquake resistant materials which not only lead to a stronger foundation but also give a modern outlook. for example, residential units constructed during 1900s were usually dark and boxy where as new housing schemes like Bahria Town provides homes which are spacious and according to modern flow plan. Secondly, newly constructed house requires low maintenance due to the latest plumbing and electricity wiring lines which are seldom seen in 19th-century construction. moreover, due to advanced technologies and the latest building practices, people have the advantage of reduced monthly billing. For instance,the apartments constructed in Clifton have solar panels and insulated walls which keep the walls cool in summers and hot in winters, due to which electricity charges are comparatively less as compared to other areas. Overall I would like to emphasize that new housing projects provide high amenities, as you get more than just a home, which is a better option in long run.