Nowadays many people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items, what are the reasons for this, do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this contemporary era, majority of humans are inclined towards purchasing the renowned materialistic items like clothes, mobiles, cars and likewise. I believe this is being followed by the big marketing campaigns run by the companies to promote their brands and, furthermore, social media plays a vital role to spread them. I believe that this is a completely negative development for the community and this essay will examine the reasons for this issue and provide examples. To commence with, there are a myriad of reasons for the public to possess these brands. However, the major reason is the big fat advertisement campaigns run by the companies to lure individuals, especially teenagers. For example, the apple I-phone advertises its phone stating itself as a statement of style, social status and a sense of pride which indulges youth to buy them to show off in their social circle. Besides this, social media platforms have further aggravated the prevalent situation and left no stone unturned to influence society by creating a tempting desire to buy products, like clothes or shoes, promoted by celebrities or influencers. On the other hand, this is leading to a regressive growth since sometimes the public buy these trending branded items to satisfy their social status and to brag amongst their friends. Furthermore, many youngsters could not even afford to own such costly products which leads them to conduct unethical or unlawful acts to pursue their desires. For instance, recently, it was reported that a teenage student robbed someone to buy an apple phone since his family denied lending money. This reflects that influence tempting marketing practices and social media influence are setting immoral and illicit activities. To conclude, the majority of the population is either influenced by the media commercials or is trying to main the status quo in society, which is a big adverse progress for them. In my opinion, the community should focus on a better and more meaningful life instead of a fancy lifestyle.