Machines have replaced physical work in many industries. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the upheaval of technology and innovation, an increasing number of hi-tech products such as robots and advanced machines emerge in our life and even have replaced human beings in various industries such as the construction industry and agriculture. Though it is admitted that the phenomenon may result in some problems including unemployment, I still believe that comparatively speaking, there are more benefits than drawbacks. To begin with, the expansion of advanced machines facilitates efficiency and improves productivity. To be specific, machines will never feel tired and have no need to relax as long as the programming has been accurately designed, also not shouldering the responsibility to take care of the family member. As a result, machines can work non-stop for hours or even for days, which promotes the efficiency of production or packaging. Moreover, certain industries, such as agriculture, require big mechanics and advanced technology to plow and irrigate. While people have to spend weeks completing those tasks, the machines can make it within hours, which provides possibilities for mass production and improves productivity. Furthermore, the fact that large-scale production and application of machines in different industries lower costs indicates that it has brought great benefits to companies and our personal life as well. As labor costs have nearly doubled or even tripled in the past decades, replacing physical work with machines can decrease the company's costs in designing, production, promotion, and marketing. Consequently, not only companies may make more profits, but such acts will cut products’ prices and benefit customers in return. An example to illustrate that would be the express delivery industry, where self-driving cars which are able to sense their environment and operate without human involvement have been playing an increasingly important role in transporting goods in some counties, It is tempting to believe that substituting human beings causes unemployment and poses extra burdens to individual lives, especially for lower-class people. Citizens who lack education and essential skills have no choice but to do physical work to make a living. If jobs such as trunk driver, cleaner, and building words disappeared, they would fail to survive. However, I believe that there are solutions to the problem, given that governments and communities can provide training for people who are in disadvantaged positions and help them to find new jobs after acquiring practical skills. In conclusion, I hold the opinion that the advantages of replacing physical work with technology outweigh the disadvantages, as far as efficiency and economic benefits are concerned.