Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinionp.

Many people opined that the sole benefit of acquiring a foreign language is for the purpose of travelling or work. However, others have opposing views. Definitely, learning international languages would ease a foreigner's communication and interaction in their day-to-day activities but there is far more usefulness in being a multilinguist. I think that learning is a continuum and speaking other people's languages will help restore peace among many nations. To begin, many have the opinion that learning other languages is only useful for working and tourism. There may be several reasons for this. One is that being able to speak foreign languages would actually encourage good communication among people from different countries. That is, they are able to fit into the labour market of whatever country they find themselves comfortable. For instance, the government of Germany have now made it compulsory for skilled immigrants to learn and pass german exams in other to be able to get work. Another one is that multilingualism helps foster a great relationship among varieties of citizens. People from different continents around the world are able to learn about each other's cultures and adapt peacefully to each other. On the other side, some have contrary ideas. They believe that a lot of people learn foreign languages for learning sake and not only for immigration opportunities. Meaning that many people are fascinated by other cultures and are just interested in learning how they speak. For instance, especially in Africa where French, Portuguese and Spanish are taught in universities. The majority of students offering them have had personal interests in knowing these languages since when they were small. In my own opinion, I think these two views are not only important to people's daily activities alone but they should also be allowed to learn foreign languages for whatever reasons they may need it. Although, this is becoming a trend but being able to speak other languages will actually go a long way in maintaining peace across the world. In summary, learning international culture, dialects and languages have diverse use for many people and its benefits cannot be underplayed. I think this should further be encouraged and it would make life easier for future generations.