Students should focus on learning in the classroom rather than show their status by wearing fashionable clothes. Therefore, all students have to wear school uniforms. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, people are certainly becoming more concerned about their physical appearance rather than intellectual development, especially young people. Although all human beings have an unarguably right to dress as desired, I totally agree with the statement that school uniforms should be obligatory. Firstly, children should be encouraged to dress how they want from a young age because one´s fashion choice is an important part of their identity. For example, a meta-analysis conducted in the United States a few years ago showed that adolescents who wore uniforms in high school struggled more with insecurities and experienced difficulties defining their sexualities later in life, compared with those who did not. Consequently, the subjects explained that they felt that they were forced to “fit” into a certain box which limited their ability to develop as individuals, followed by a decreased capacity to learn in the classroom. Therefore, I think that parents in the UK should be concerned about the mental well-being of their offspring. On the other hand, as the social gap between the rich and poor people in the world increased dramatically over recent years, it is actually advantageous for lower-income parents not to worry about expensive clothes to show off. For instance, high populated countries like Japan and China, school uniform is mandatory from primary to high school, and it should be noted that students in these nations perform excellently in school. Personally, I believe that having your teenage fashion disaster sorted out permanently can help pupils concentrate on their learning. In conclusion, it is clear that both sides of the statement are rising reasonable issues depending on the individual driving force behind the opinion, for,example financial ability and mental health problems in addition to the reduced possibility to benefit from intrinsic autonomy. In my opinion, the social advantages of the usage of school uniforms outweigh the few drawbacks.