Scientific innovation is always a positive thing and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons to support your answer.

People are on the split decision whether to promote scientific innovations. Although some scientific innovation leads to detrimental situation, it should still be promoted, as its advantages drive the human development. On one hand, innovation in science is vital to enhance human’s life. Scientific discoveries have benefited people from simple saving-labour machine, such as microwave, to a great accomplishment, like moon landing. If, for example, scientists had not done more innovations in space research, human might never have set foot on the moon, and people may have no microwave in their kitchen today, since microwave was developed from the so-called unimportant discovery when the scientists built a space rocket. From these cases, it is vivid that scientific innovation is crucial for mankind. Aside from the advantages, scientific invention could lead to a negative situation, if there was no moral ethics to compass how mankind use it. Atomic bomb in the World War II and poisonous gas in the World War I are the examples of how a brilliant breakthrough in science could lead to a catastrophy. One can argue that it is the human who decide whether to amplify the positive or negative side of the invention. However, if this situation continues, a similar nightmare will likely to occur in the future. Therefore, scientists and countries have to agree on rules to regulate how these technologies use. To sum up, mankind has benefited from scientific innovation to improve their living conditions and accomplish wonders, therefore, it should still be encouraged. However, some innovations were transformed into killing machine. Thus, scientists and countries will have to generate a set of rules if no one want to intensify the negative side of scientific inventions.