Childhood obesity has become a serious problem in recent years. What are the primary causes of this? What measures should be taken to reduce childhood obesity?

In recent times, obesity in children has become a major cause of concern. Although,the main reasons are eating unhealthy food, lack of physical activity and increased screen time we can control it by educating the children and creating awareness among parents and schools. First and the foremost cause of heavyweight issues in children is the high consumption of junk food. This food which not only tastes delicious, easily available has also got artificial flavours induced which play a major role in disrupting the hormone balance in the body. In addition to that, juveniles are hardly indulged in any sports which keep them physically active and help them to manage weight. Lastly, children are not encouraged to exercise by schools where they spend most of their time during weekdays, instead concentrating on academic excellence which makes them lose interest in sports. For example, As a result,eating unhealthy food regularly and lacking fitness regime increases obesity levels in kids. Educating children as well as creating awareness in both parents and teachers are considered to be the best possible measures. Children should be taught about the importance of eating healthy food and learn about the harmful effects of overeating fried foods,burgers,cakes and pizza etc. Furthermore, parents should also be educated about the growth challenges and they should motivate children to be active physically and start sports at a young age. For instance, schools should mandate physical exercise classes daily and also include physical classes in their curriculum. In conclusion, binge eating and overconsumption of junk food are the primary cause of obesity-related issues in children, however, this can be resolved by guiding teenagers about the drawbacks of eating vitamin deficiency food and letting parents and schools know the importance of physical fitness.