“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating disease is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree.

Medical costs are becoming more expensive nowadays. However, it is the cost of extending people's longevity, inevitably. But not every country has enough money to support the high cost of the medical care system, which is the most important part of our economic and political system as human beings. I do agree that prevention is better than cure, because this is a smart way to avoid spending too much. For example, the use of traditional herbal treatments in China has a long history. Firstly, I will explain the reasons. Essentially, prevention means being able to predict and prevent diseases before they occur, which means we spend much less. Maintaining good physical health is an important form of avoidance. Additionally, by preventing illness, we can stay at home and avoid going to hospitals, which are often noisy and crowded. Therefore, focusing on avoidance instead of cure is a way to reduce the burden on medical institutions. On the other hand, medication is much more expensive than what modern society can afford. For instance, half of the medical cost of the British medical system is spent on the last dying period of patients. It was a huge waste of money and human resources. Curing diseases has been the focus of medical science for a long time. However, given the limited time and disposable wealth in our lives, should we shift our focus from curing diseases to preventing them? Personally, I think the latter is a better option. Ultimately, The idea that prevention is better than cure is not new; it has been embraced in countries like China and Japan for centuries. However, different nations and groups may have their own perspectives on this topic and can make decisions that are appropriate for their specific contexts.