Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern,world the debate on women's rights is at its peak and some argue that in educational institutes such as, universities there should be equal proportions of both men and women in each subject. In my opinion, I do not agree with this statement and will explain the reasons below. To begin with, if universities start to admit an equal number of both genders in each subject then it will be difficult for the universities to fill all seats as some courses are more popular in one gender and some are in another. For example, girls will be more interested in taking nursing courses while boys will be more interested in courses related to gaming. Secondly, the major drawback of setting the proportion for each gender is to ruin the merit. People who are more capable will not be able to get the course which they want because of less number of seats. Moreover, setting the proportion will also ruin the competition. For instance, a mediocre boy will be competing against a highly intelligent girl in a nursing course. To conclude, women should have equal rights and opportunities but to set an equal proportion is not right because it will ruin the competition and merit.