Many people argue that eating junk food has led to an unhealthy lifestyle. This problem has become more common among young people these days. Do you agree or disagree that junk food is the cause of the issue?

Some argue that eating junk food contributes to an unhealthy lifestyle and that it is becoming increasingly common to see young people suffer from this proclivity. To my mind, it is not the sole cause of this issue though it is partly to blame for it. Admittedly, junk food consumption can prove detrimental to the well-being of young people for several reasons. The main harm comes from their poor nutritional content. From a scientific standpoint, junk food such as fast food and packaged ready meals tend to be rich in unhealthy fats and carbohydrates, which are shown to result in inflammation. Inflammation, in turn, is one of the underlying causes of obesity and diabetes. As such, young people who eat food items with low nutritional value, junk food by extension, are bound to suffer from less than healthy lifestyle. I, however, tend to think there are other more significant factors behind an unhealthy lifestyle among young people. Lack of exercise is arguably the most common reason. The fact that most young people today have modern conveniences such as a personal car, a smartphone, home delivery, and powerful home appliances means that they do not have to be physically active as much anymore. This is further compounded by easy access to entertainment. While in the past most young people played sports and spent time outdoors to have fun, these days they can entertain themselves watching TV or playing video games indoors. These changes appear to have had more influence on the lifestyle of young people than junk food. In conclusion, as much as I think part of the blame for an unhealthy lifestyle among youngsters lies on junk food, I am more inclined to say that insufficient exercise and the prevalence of indoor entertainment are more significant determinants.