Many people find it difficult to speak in front of and to present to an audience. It is believed that this skill should be taught in school. Why is this important? To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

It is believed that presentation skills should be included in the curriculum as a mandatory subject. From my perspective, this opinion is completely reasonable. I will give my detailed explanation in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, opponents of this standpoint have their own rational grounds. First, students are overwhelmed by the subjects at school. Specifically, the current curriculum consists of a massive number of courses, and to achieve acceptance by the universities, learners are required to attain high grades in all classes. In fact, the common universities in Vietnam only accept undergraduates who have a over 9.0 GPA. Second, schools should allow learners to opt for courses which are suitable for their talent. To elaborate, introverted studies are under pressure whenever they participate in these lessons, which becomes a nightmare. On the other hand, the above arguments are insufficient to overshadow the merits of teaching such a soft skill. First, this is a perfect environment to apply this presentation skill. To be specific, presentation skills require undergraduates to practise in a crowded environment. Therefore, learners are able to immediately apply the theory of lessons to reality, and will receive direct feedback from teachers. Second, this skill will support students in searching for job opportunities in the long run. In particular, employers prefer candidates who have public speaking skills to advertise their products to the public. In reality, Steve Jobs, the famous CEO of Apple, gained success for his enterprise thanks to his perfect presentation about the iPhone in 2008. In conclusion, it is indisputable that including a subject in the curriculum of learners, which is already heavy, will create pressure on them, and not everyone is gifted with this skill. However, teachers should teach this subject to provide them with a brighter future.