Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skill. What are the causes and suggest possible solutions.

It is true that some companies complained about new employees' poor interpersonal skills. There are some reasons that can be identified to account for this view, and some solutions should be adopted. In my opinion, there are two main reasons that lead to this problem. First and foremost, fresh employees’ lack of exposure to real work situations can contribute to this issue. To be precise, most of the new candidates who are recruited to a firm may not have experienced challenges beyond a task accomplishment. This is because they were trained only regarding the required professional skills. Secondly, young people in recent years appear to be more overprotective compared to their predecessors. Such safeguarding and permissiveness may result in children’s lacking opportunities to communicate themselves and improve their social etiquette, thus creating either an inhibited worker who is unable to strike up a proper conversation, or a self-centred one who does not want to cooperate with others in assignments that require teamwork. Several measures should be taken to tackle the issue of freshers’ lacking social skills. Companies should conduct training programs for new recruits on team endeavours. For example, if a sample project is assigned to a group instead of a person as a part of training, employees will not only develop their technical skills but also improve their teamwork skills. Moreover, children should be taught to work in groups so that they can socialize more with their friends and cherish collaboration. Early exposure to different personality traits can help a person be much better prepared for their future career. In conclusion, a lack of basic interpersonal skills in new employees stems from fresher lacking exposure to real working situations and the overprotection of youngsters, and there are a number of feasible solutions to tackle this issue.