The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as shcools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is asserted that instead of funding projects that focus on outer space exploration, the governments should take heed on improving the public infrastructures such as schools and hospitals which, in my opinion, is not the right thing to do and so I disagree with this statement. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will explain the reasons for my disagreement. To commence with, urbanisation has reached its' peak point in most nations. The major necessities of humans such as school buildings and general hospitals are available in more numbers than required. For instance, every metropolitan city around the world is occupied with thousands of infrastructures that ease lives of the individuals. So, authorities should focus on maintaining these features rather than investing more money. On the other hand, due to urbanisation land has been occupied fully and due to the lack of green space climate change has been a major challenge for living beings. Several natural disasters are likely to occur as a result along with famine on earth. For example, many places around the globe are facing the problems of drought and irregular rainfall due to the warming effect. Hence, discovering life on other planets should be prioritized. The projects that focus on conducting research on other planets as March and Moon need to be supported by governmental funding. This will secure our future either for food or land to inhabit. In a nutshell, it is generally thought that the fund that is separated for other planets would be better utilized in our major cities' infrastructure development which, in my opinion, is not a wise option as we are on the verge of low land availability and issues of changing climate. It would be better to focus on exploring life in other spaces to preserve our races.