Many young people nowadays are imitating celebrities in sports and movies. In your opinion, is this good or bad? Support your point of view with reasons and examples from your own experience.

In today's society, young people are obsessed with sports and movies when compared to the past. Despite that fact, it is always a point of argument if it is beneficial for the youth to consider sports and movie stars as their role models or not. In this essay, I will elaborate further in regard to both sides and state my point of view. To begin with, movies and sports have become an essential part of life not only because they are sources of entertainment but also because they offer an escape and distraction from daily stressors. Moreover, superstars, such as actors and sportsmen, are known to be constantly under the spotlight and their luxurious lifestyles are often shown on television and social media, thus teenagers and young adults easily get attracted to celebrities and tend to follow their way of life. Also, some of the youngsters would even consider them as their heroes, by doing so, children and teenagers can learn important life lessons. For example, dedication, hard work, not giving up on dreams and how to positively handle situations when they make mistakes, and on top of that they can gain knowledge about mental health issues as most famous personalities raise mental health awareness by often sharing their own experiences. On the contrary, although superstars have positive influences on teens, we should not underestimate the negative influences that they have on our society, such as low self-esteem, promoting and consuming alcohol and illegal substances which lead to reckless behaviour and numerous health issues. In addition, celebrities can influence body image and teenage attitudes and behaviour. To conclude, whether celebrities are good or bad role models, they can influence the identity, values and behaviour of youngsters. Therefore, I believe it is beneficial for teenagers to learn valuable things from the life stories of famous figures by making them their role models without losing themselves.