Children nowadays spend great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the books as a learning tool, which is why children are less well-educated today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the modern world, it is undeniable that children choose watching television over reading books. Some people believe that books are one of the main learning tools and lack of reading makes children less well-educated nowadays. On the other hand there is an opposite view that young generation uses different ways of learning, for example, watching educational content on television. I strongly agree that books cannot be completely replaced and I am going to examine both of these statements in this essay. One of the most apparent reasons that books are a crucial source of learning which is impossible to be replaced by television. For instance, reading books not only provides knowledge but, at the same time, increases a child’s vocabulary and ability to speak logically and structurally without using filler words. In addition, reading makes a human’s brain concentrate on text information and develops memory capacity. Another point that should not be overlooked is that watching television is not always a waste of time. To clarify, TV programs might be beneficial in case of watching educational channels such as National Geographic and historical documentary movies. The key part is that the visual memory is involved in the process of watching TV, which creates a huge impact on memorizing and understanding. Young people’s attention can be caught easily due to interactive and colorful pictures on the screen. To recapitulate, my opinion is that books, as a learning tool, cannot be replaced by television. Books play a key role in children’s education, although educational TV channels could be a helpful addition.