Nowadays many people choose to be self-emplpyed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The majority of people find that self-employment is much more advantageous compared to working for others. Whether to choose the former or the latter, I think it surely depends on one's situation, since both come with their own risks and benefits. I do believe that one of the reasons why people are attracted to self-employment is because it allows them to freely adjust their schedule based on their own needs. This allocates them the time to achieve things that they want without losing other things. For example, they can postpone their work without having their salaries reduced when their favourite singers are performing on a particular weekday. Additionally, when they feel exhausted and weary after months of busy meetings, they can choose to have a vacation without waiting for their superior's approval since they are their own boss. Furthermore, they don't have to go through all the nerve-wracking job applications and interviews. Thus, they will have a more easygoing lifestyle. However, while being self-employed may be enchanting, I do think it comes with some drawbacks. For instance, without a stable salary, it will be hard to plan the future with certainty. Moreover, it may be costly to start a new business and there will always be a risk of failure, especially during the first few months. Hence, before making a decision to be self-employed, I think it is better to consider the risks first. In conclusion, although self-employment may be a good option since it seems flexible and simple, there are several things that should be contemplated before being self-employed. Of course, with careful preparations, those things can be managed accordingly.