Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that education and vocational training are the most effective ways to rehabilitate lawbreakers. While I accept that these solutions can bring significant benefits to young offenders, I would argue serious crimes might be sent to prison for some reasons. It might be good for young criminals to participate in rehabilitation programs in place of receiving imprisonment because of some advantages. Firstly, since education plays an integral role in ensuring and helping authorities prevent young offenders from re-commit crimes later, juvenile delinquency should be encouraged to continue studying after an educational gap. Therefore, they might gain knowledge and necessary skills to become productive members of society. Secondly, as unemployment is one of the main causes of crime, vocational training provides young criminals with practical skills which can help them find suitable jobs. To illustrate, if juvenile delinquency excels in vocational skills, they can get started right away their chosen career path. However, I would argue that violent crime should be sent to prison due to some reasons. The first one is to ensure the safety of society. For example, violent offenders who kill someone need to be isolated themselves from the public, so prison is the best deterrent for their actions. In addition, strict sentences help to prevent evil. These judgments warn that criminals will be arrested and live in miserable cells. Therefore, those who intend to break the law would reconsider their adverse path. In conclusion, while education and job training give people a chance to be productive members of society, I believe that crimes of violence should be received strict punishments.