Some people think that the best wat to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative wats or reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that the optimal way to lower crime is to provide with more years in jail, I believe that a preferable way is to educate them to lower the crime. On the one hand, there is to believe that longer term in prison will reduce crime because some citizens thought that criminals will learn their lesson. Firstly, most of these people who commit felonies are older than forty years-old, so these adults tend to commit a crime again. Moreover, there are multiple statistics that mentioned many situations in which those criminal will return to the jail withing a period of five years, and this time with a longer sentence. For instance, In the United States, California, Prisions are full of gangsters who violate the law, and there are no sufficient prisions to accomodate all these criminals. However, I believe that we do not need more prisions to put all these offenders because it is proved that this method is not working. On the other hand, many people believe it is better to educate them while they are in prision because it is proved that educated people might not commit a crime again. To begin with, citizens who have higher level of education raise awareness of the importance to keep away from jail. Also, when they finished a high-school diploma or some of them achieve higher education such as becoming a lawyer, they will never return to jail. For instance, in the UK prision system, criminals who have a sentence longer than five years, they are sending to an educational program to obtain a degree, so they can return into society as a rehabilitated individuals. I believe this is a preferable school of thought because these people are relocated in society and they will function properly. To conclude, even though some people believe that sending criminals to a longer period of time might lower the crime rate, it is not always the right method to follow because many of them will return to jail. However criminals who were educated while in jail, it is proved that they will never come again to prison.