The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by ‎almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this ‎disturbing trend.

It is asserted that over the past decade, juvenile obesity in western countries has levelled up by nearly less than a quarter. There are various reasons behind this and multiple effects due to this issue which all will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence with, due to earlier modernisation in western communities the consumption of packaged and processed items is popular among young generations as well. These foods contain high levels of calories and sugar that contribute to weight gain. In addition, the lifestyle over those parts is also sedentary, as a result, no fat is burnt through exercise. For instance, major households in the USA are workaholics which is why they do not have time to cook fresh food instead they rely on junk food from restaurants and also feed their children with it. Eventually, the consumption of long-stored items along with fewer exercise habits contributes to the unusual body mass index of children. The consequences of this trend could be the increment in health issues at a very young age. Over-consumption of items that have been changed into other forms can lead to a rise in blood sugar levels and heart attacks. Such issues occur mostly when the limit is reached; fat deposition around heart arteries blocks blood circulation and initiates heart problems. For example, major patients admitted for sugar and heart problems are mostly fat people. Thus, healthy food habit needs to be developed in order to be disease free. In a nutshell, young generations of the western part are showing a 20 per cent increase in obesity issues which could be attributed to damaging food habits leading to abnormal health issues.